Telara Through New Eyes

I have been playing games on my old HP Pavilion Laptop for the last 4 years but it has been getting a little dated. It ran WoW and LotRO pretty well but as you can see from my previous screenshots I have to run Rift on the Low-res setting. I can’t really complain as the game ran smoothly and I could enjoy playing even if the visuals were quite simplified.

That all changed last Friday. My Alienware M17x laptop arrived and opened up a new world for me. Cranking the game to ultra settings I could finally see the the game’s visuals as the designers at Trion intended. The laptop is working great and the game runs smoother than I could of hoped.

The only downside was that the color choices I made for Durak’s appearance didnt translate very well. His facial tatoos ended up alomst the same color as his skin and and his hair and highlights were off as well. With so little contrast between these features he looked a bit “blurred” for lack of a better term. As he was only level 13 I went ahead and re-rolled him so I could get him looking just the way I wanted. Trion may yet add a barbershop feature sometime down the road but I didnt feel the need to wait for one at this stage.

I kept his his physical characteristics as close as I could to the original version but with the changes to the coloring everything has the right amount of contrast now. It was also fun going though the starter area again (and seeing in in hi-res) and since I already knew what to do it just breezed by.

One thing I did change were his initial souls. Although I stayed with Beastmaster I choose Riftblade and Paladin as his initial supporting souls. Most of my points are still going into Beastmaster but I put 4 points into Riftblade for the ranged attack (rather than the charge from the Champion) and I will eventually put the 8 points into Paladin that gives him the big self heal on a ten-minute cooldown. This may not give him the highest DPS but it has some nice utility and surviveabilty for my first journey to 50. I know I will probably have all of his other souls unlocked by level 15 or so but I like this combo so far.

That title “The Risen” I received from the Collector’s Edition seems even more appropriate now – for both Durak and my computer.

Categories: Builds, Rift | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

